Cliquez ici pour visiter la version en français du site.

Skip to main content


4 new independent senators sworn in

So far, 75 senators have been appointed under the new process.

A swearing in ceremony was held for four new independent senators from the Maritimes as they took their seats in the Red Chamber for the first time.

  • Joan Kingston represents New Brunswick
  • John McNair represents New Brunswick
  • Krista Ross represents New Brunswick
  • Réjean Aucoin represents Nova Scotia

“Welcome to the Senate of Canada,” said Senator Marc Gold, the Government Representative in the Senate. “We will no doubt benefit from your experience and insight. I look forward to working with all of you.”

Senator Kingston is a registered nurse and a consultant with the University of New Brunswick’s Faculty of Nursing. She is a former provincial parliamentarian, serving as Minister of Labour and Minister of the Environment.

Senator Marc Gold (left) with Senator Joan Kingston (centre) and Senator Nancy Hartling (right).

Senator McNair has been General Counsel and Corporate Secretary to Service New Brunswick for the past 14 years. He previously served as Deputy Attorney General and Deputy Minister of Justice for the Province of New Brunswick from 1998 to 1999.

Senator Marc Gold (left) stands with Senator John McNair (centre) and Senator Pierrette Ringuette (right).

Senator Ross is a business leader and a community advocate, who served as Chief Executive Officer of the Fredericton Chamber of Commerce for 12 years. She also provides mentorship and support to newcomers to Canada.

Senator Marc Gold (left) stands with Senator Krista Ross (centre) and Senator Jim Quinn (right). (Photo: Senate of Canada)

Senator Aucoin, a practicing lawyer for more than 30 years, founded the Association des juristes d’expression française de la Nouvelle-Écosse to support the Franco-Acadian community. He previously worked as a journalist and a community development officer.

Senator Marc Gold (left) stands with Senator Réjean Aucoin (centre) and Senator René Cormier (right). (Photo: Senate of Canada)

The new senators were appointed on the recommendation of an independent advisory board with a mandate to provide merit-based recommendations for Senate appointments. So far, 75 independent senators have been appointed under the new process.

4 new independent senators sworn in